Scientific research can be the most effective when done by private companies.

In this day and age, it is commonly believed that businesses being the private units can conduct scientific research in the most effective way. In my perspective, I totally disagree with this viewpoint due to many reasons. On the one hand, it is undeniable that letting private firms carry out research relating to science may have certain benefits. Firstly, in general, because the profit always may be the first concern of the companies, they can avoid wasting resources when conducting these kinds of research. For instance, when a company undertakes a research relating to demographics, they will calculate precisely and estimate the cost of the problems arising during the research process such as the fuel cost in order to commute to destinations surveyed or human resource with a view to alleviating the company’s resources significantly. Secondly, thanks to these businesses which have done scientific research, the governments may relieve financial burdens. Hence, the nation leaders can allocate the state budget for other important purposes such as investing in infrastructures or enhancing the national military. On the other hand, I believe that this is not the most effective measure because there is another one being better. First of all, due to the concentration on the profit, these companies can sell the research findings that they have found for other domestic units or even foreign nations for commercial goals. Therefore, this may seriously affect the national source of assets owing to the vital role of these research in supporting and boosting the economy. Second of all, rather than letting private companies conduct the scientific research, the authorities can take over this responsibility better. To be more specific, because of the huge amount of capital resulted from the public budget, the national governments will totally make use of various kinds of resources such as human and technology, which may lead to the more exact research’s results. In conclusion, scientific research taken over by private companies may have a number of beneficial effects, but I am of the opinion that it is not the best option.