While some people believe that government surveillance (such as Closed Circuit Television (CCTV), and the use of speed cameras) is essential for individuals to feel safe within a society, others feel it limits their freedom.

It is considered by some that security cameras are extremely necessary for people's well-being while some argue that it restricts their freedom. In my opinion, surveillance cameras provide a sense of protection for some individuals. Firstly, the use of these government monitoring cameras have evidently contributed to solving complex crimes. There have been plenty of proofs that they have helped law enforcement reduce crime rates. This has resulted in municipalities installing more security systems to record the activities of their residents in their local areas. Secondly, the implementation of speed cameras has helped to improve road safety. For example, in the small community I live in, speed cameras have been enforced and this alters the behaviour of some drivers coming from the city who are used to driving fast and aggressive. They immediately comply with the road regulations as they know that they can easily be traced once they violate it. The deployment of these technologies clearly helps promote responsible driving and helps save lives in the streets. On the other hand, I also support the opinion that these surveillance systems may negatively impact one's freedom and confidence. There have been some cases where people don't feel comfortable knowing that there are other people constantly recording their every movement and that it invades their privacy. I have seen some documentaries showing some people who are being supervised without their permission and resulted in a more serious and costly affair. Furthermore, there have been instances that these systems have been easily abused whereas employees use their access to these records to blackmail people. Therefore, some argue that it has just created more issues for people's personal rights. To sum up, placing cameras in strategic areas can help ensure public care, protect property and reduce crimes however unauthorized surveillance can also violate someone's personal space and rights. Therefore, how to balance the general public's safety and privacy should be considered further by the government.