Traditional medicine, such as acupuncture and herbal remedies, is very popular in some countries. Those who practice traditional medicine claim it is better than modern medicine in maintaining and improving health. Do you agree or disagree with this viewpoint?

The popularity of traditional alternative medicine practice is increasing in some countries. This field includes therapy such as acupuncture and herbal for health improvement, which is often argued to be better than modern medicine. I completely disagree with this opinion and feel that scientific research-based modern medicine is better and safe than traditional medicine. The main reason as to why modern medicine is more trustworthy is because the treatment protocol is supported by scientific facts and findings. Modern medicine gives special effort to combat against the uncured diseases and improve the health condition. For example, countries such as USA and Canada have funds allocated for cancer research centers to investigate and provide better treatment and advanced medication for this disease. Moreover, due to the scientific approach, modern medicine has successfully eradicated several diseases. For instance, India has been declared as a “polio-free nation”, the wild poliovirus has been eliminated and the status was maintained for five years with no such case registered. However, traditional medicine is more of a hit and trial practice where at times it may be successful. In addition, research-based modern medicine provides safe treatment compared to traditional medicine which relies on old beliefs being passed on from one generation to the other. Is it safe to release vaccines for local use without testing? That is why in modern medicine, it is mandatory to test every drug or vaccine for any adverse effects such as allergies or chemical imbalance before introducing them to the market. Nevertheless, the side effects of herbal and acupuncture therapies are unidentified. In conclusion, although traditional medicine is practiced in some countries, complete recovery from disease is doubtful. Hence, modern medicine is more effective utilizing scientific and safe measures to improve human health.