Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Animal testing, nowadays, has become a vital part in scientific inventions, especially in pharmaceutical products. There are advantages and disadvantages in experimenting animals, however, choosing animals for experiments, which is necessary or not, matters. I believe that testing on animals is essential to prevent causing harm to humans, while looking for alternative options to preserve animals is also inevitable. The main reason for experimenting on animals in developing new drugs is to know the side effects of that drug and can be able to rectify it before providing for human use. For instance, during COVID pandemic, lots of vaccine trials have been carried out on animals due to their similarity of biological structure with humans, in order to ensure the safety of mankind. This significant trials should be done on animals as it is unavoidable. Another reason might be making animals' lives under risk for unnecessary cosmetic products. In this case, there is no need to make animals suffer, as it is mostly applied superficially and its bad effects can be resolved easily. Hence, choosing appropriate experiments to be tested on animals will pave way for preventing unnecessary animal sufferings. There are less alternative options to use instead of animals for these kinds of tests such as incorporating advanced techniques to isolate human cells and tissues from the body and experimenting it in vitro. However, this field needs crucial improvements to make it successful. If these were developed, there would be no need for the animals experimentation. In conclusion, I firmly believe that in the current situation, animals have to be tested for extremely demanding medical inventions, whereas experimenting them for less important or useless products must be avoided. Furthermore, alternative techniques should be developed in a fast pace, so that animal sufferings can be prevented in the future.