Tpo51- Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that in this complicated and progressing era in which we live, media, specifically television, play a crucial role in the life of the humankind. People used to watch TV, and spend lots of time gathering information and enjoying movies, amusements and TV shows. While young people are no exception to this notion, some believe that television has more disadvantages compared to its benefits for them. Personally speaking, I agree with this claim, and I will make my side more clear in the next paragraphs. First, getting used to aggressively watching movies and TV will cause serious health problems. While young people need to take care of themselves by going to gyms and sports clubs in their spare times, many of them prefer to stay at home, watching TV, and spending most of their time not moving, staring at the TV screens. This unhealthy behavior leads to serious mental and physical problems, like anxiety and obesity. A personal example can drive this notion home. I have a twenty-year-old brother who spends most of his time in front of the TV, watching movies and playing TV games. Although he used to be a healthy guy before getting addicted to TV, he gradually started to gain weight and experienced different stresses and headaches. Finally, we made him visit a doctor, and the doctor prohibited him of TV-related issues for two months. Second, family relationships can be adversely affected by excessive attention to TV programs. It is crystal clear that the members of a family need to communicate with one another, and they should spend time together when they are at home. However, in many families, it is customary for members to watch TV instead of talking and communicating while they gather in the house. Therefore, the family' s bonds and connections will be weakened, and family members will separate from each other. Finally, young people need to strengthen their social abilities through communication and making continuous bonds with others. In this regard, they need to spend their time out of their rooms, discussing with others, playing outdoor games, taking part in social activities, and doing volunteering jobs. However, watching movies and TV shows are indoor activities which utterly stand against these activities. Thus, people lose their connections, become couch potatoes, and opt for a solitary lifestyle. In sum, I believe that TV and movies are harmful to young people and they should control their behavior while using them. Causing severe mental and physical problems, dividing family members apart and threatening social behaviors are disadvantages of the TV for youths.