Tpo5. task2. It is more important to study history and literature than to study math and science. Agree or disagree?

These days, playing computer games has become a pastime for many children. They tend to spend a large amount of time on this activity rather than play sports. This trend is mainly attributed to the development of technology as well as overprotective parents. Personally, I strongly believe that paying attention exclusively to games has detrimental impacts on children’s lives. Firstly, there are two primary reasons leading to this phenomenon. With the advance technology, game companies are capable of transforming 2D games into virtual worlds. In other words, video games have become more engrossing and appealing to children. The second reason is that due to the pollution, parents barely allow their children to go out and participate in sports. With the fear of exposure to pollutants and toxic substances on the streets, they tend to let their kids stay indoors. As a result, young people have to play games as a means of entertainment. Secondly, spending too much time playing computer games is absolutely harmful to children. It is undeniable that they may suffer from short-sightedness and backache after a long time sitting in front of the computer screen. Additionally, game addiction can possibly distract them from studying as they could hardly find interest in learning, but playing games instead. Finally, the positive impacts of sports on people’s health is indisputable. Not only does doing exercise improve physical strength, but also mental health. While playing sports, children can strengthen their muscles as well as get fit. Moreover, playing sports in teams can help them relax and build a close relationship with their friends. In conclusion, a sedentary lifestyle with most of the time playing games and no time for sports is a consequence of the technological development and being protected too much. My view is that this trend definitely has negative effects on children.