TPO18 Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

It comes as no surprise that efforts to finding the most effective people for students by whom they are influenced have been always among the top priorities. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is that whether teachers have more effects on students than their friends or not. I, to a great extent, concur with the idea that friends have greater influence on the students. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated by the most outstanding reasons. The first exquisite point that makes me hold this belief is that young people are greatly receptive of their age mates. It goes without saying that people in the same age have similar concerns and attitudes; so, they can better influence each other. For example, a teacher cannot figure out the problems of students since he lived in different era, when he was in their age, which the condition definitely differ from present. Consider a student that have a problem and talk to his teacher and his friends. His friends can evaluate the problem from the student' s viewpoint and give him practical advises. But the teacher look at the problem from his angle which is totally differ from his prospective and so his advises are nonsense for student. Another reason deserving some words here is that since friends spend a lot of time with each other, they can intentionally or unintentionally affect each other. When people spend time beside each other, they gradually obtain various behaviors from each other until their characteristics become the same. For example, if some people spend many time with each other, you can vividly see this similarity in them. Researches show people' s brain unintentionally receive information from the surrounding environment and imprints them in their mind. Whatsoever the more the information are repeated, the more effect they have on people' s behavior. Finally, yet importantly, whatsoever students are comfortable with people, they get influence from them. Since the students are more comfortable with their friends rather than by teachers, friends have more effects on them. Teachers are usually elder than students; so, students must respect them and consider a proper distance between themselves and their teacher. In this circumstance, they do not feel comfort to talk with them and get their opinion about different matters in their life. On the other hands, friends are really comfortable with each other and can easily talk about their concerns and dilemma. As I remember, when I was in high school, I had a critical financial problem. First, I thought to consult with my teacher, but I was embarrassed about the subject and cannot talk to him. But, I talked to one of my friends, he kindly advices me and I could solve my problem by his advice. In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned paragraphs, one can soon realize that students are more receptive of their friends since not only do they completely know others' needs and can better influence each other, but also they spend a lot of time with their friends and are more comfortable with them. It is highly recommended that parents not underestimate the value of choosing right friends for their children since they have huge impact on their behavior.