tpo 53Briefly summarize the man's problem. Then state which solution you would recommend. Explain the reasons for your recommendation.

How should children spend their spare time has become a hot topic of discussion these days. Some people perceive that parents are accountable for limiting their youngsters’ hours on various recreational activities, such as TV and computer, and spending more time on reading books. In this essay, I shall discuss why I completely agree with this idea even though there are some minor challenges associated with it. The crucial beneficial factor of encouraging children to read is that it enables children to better understand and grasp numerous social values, including respect, honesty and responsibility while reading. Additionally, they will also gain significant experiences that will reward them later on in the future. For example, a recent study conducted in Japan has revealed that children who had developed the habit of reading in their childhood tend to be more resilient and wise compared to their peers. Therefore, these advantages have a profound impact on children’s future. However, every coin has two sides. One main negative consequence of this idea is that their inner desire of reading could be reduced if they are only allowed to read in their personal time because learning through books might not be suitable for everyone. Take myself for example, I didn’t like reading and I had learnt many useful knowledge by watching some documentaries on the TV when I was a student in primary school. As can be seen, other recreational activities are also beneficial for children’s development once parents give the proper guidance. To sum up, people’s opinion towards what should children do when they are free is various. Taking everything into consideration, I’m inclined to say that encouraging youngsters to spend more time on books is an absolute imperative other activities should be allowed as well as long as their hours on them are controlled by adults.