TPO 44 - Question 5Briefly summarize the problem the speaker are discussing. Then state which solution you would recommend. Explain the reasons for your recommendation.

While the elderly used to be delighted and in good health conditions in the past as a result of more physical activities and interactions with family and friends, many of them are living in solitude dealing with health issues. This essay will discuss two prominent causes, including retirement and urbanization. This essay will also suggest two main solutions including migration and new activities. Retired old people are condemned to spend the rest of their lives in cramped gloomy houses next to many other people they do not know. Furthermore, the houses are not as appealing as they used to be. As an example, unlike older houses, apartments do not have interesting views and the views are mostly other buildings’ facade. In addition, in contrast to old houses, new ones do not include gardens which were a resource of both picturesque views of houses as well as physical activities for its maintenance. As a result, the elderly people have lost their motivation for making relationships and being active. Moving to the country or rural areas can pacify the aged and boost their feelings. Living in a village, a small group of people create a friendly atmosphere there. Additionally, moving to these areas pushes old people toward having new physical activities and it will make a new lease on life for them. For example, agricultural activities are common in such areas and people usually have to harvest their own food. Moreover, being busy with farming, they lose the track of time and days passes easier for them next to familiar people in the neighbourhood. Therefore, they will not experience loneliness and health condition increases. In conclusion, old people are suffering from loneliness and health problems nowadays unlike the past. This essay discussed why old people are under the pressure due to urbanization and retirement. This essay also suggested that the solutions are migration and new activities.