TPO 41 - Question 2Some people believe it is important for universities to provide funding for student entertainment, such as movies or concerts on campus. Others believe that university money should only be used for academic purposes. Which view do you a

Nowadays, young people fear that they will not be able to find a good job. So, work counsellors advise to invest in further instruction rather than try to gain some experience. However, I completely disagree with this point of view. Due to the lack of employees, especially in specific sectors, entrepreneurs prefer to employ younger people and to train them at work. Consequently, people looking for a job tend to hand curriculum vitae in bosses' hands as soon as they graduate. Moreover, young people can work much more than others because they are less busy: in fact, they usually do not have to look after children or family. This is the main reason why interviewers often ask for the applicant's future plans, in order to understand how much time he could dedicate to the company and contribute to its growth. On the other hand, some people could argue that academic preparation is much more important, as it allows to best perform required tasks. However, even though this view could be technically appropriate for certain types of jobs -for instance, some scientific careers-, special training may be organized to teach new features or to train the employees to carry out certain activities. Furthermore, people can really improve their profit and their abilities by experiencing and practicing. To sum up, business traineeships should be encouraged, as they allow both to learn new skills, to earn some money and to gain experience that could be spent when looking for other kinds of jobs.