TPO 32: Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Throughout history, there were eras in which people were under the control of the governments and aristocratic groups and did not have the right to make decisions. However, the situation gradually changed and now people somewhat have the opportunity to participate in making the future of their society. In this regard, some people hold the view that these days youngsters have no influence on the important decisions which determine the future of their country. From my own perspective, this statement is not essentially correct due to some reasons. In the following paragraph, I will substantiate my viewpoint through two conspicuous reasons. The most prominent issue that one should consider is that nowadays most of the societies are governed by a democratic system in which chief government authorities are elected by people. For example, every four years between numbers of candidates one of them is assigned as president through the election. During the election, people play a pivotal role and their votes determine which one of the political parties would take the power. In most of the countries, a great majority of the population is youngsters and their participation in the elections and their choice is determinative and certainly influence the future of their society. For example in my country youngsters are advocates of the reformist' s party. Their extensive participation in the last two elections led to the dominance of the reformist' s party over their rival and dramatically changed the future of our countries. Another noticeable point coming to my mind is that besides political affairs, the future of a society highly depends on its human forces in industrial and scientific spheres. In most of the high tech companies, youngsters constitute a great portion of employees especially in research and development units and have creative ideas that if implemented, not only would be profitable for the company it would have positive impacts for the country. For instance, my supervisor has a science-based company and have employees who are all very young. They work on CT-scanners for medical applications. Once, one of the researchers proposed a creative idea about developing a dual-energy micro CT-scanner and it attracted my supervisor and they started to work on it. After almost two years they built the first dual-energy micro CT-scanner in my country. It was really profitable for the company. Furthermore, it released our country from importing this costly equipment from other countries and hence it was profitable for the government. To make the long story short, I think it is reasonable to draw the conclusion that these days youngsters have influence on the future of their society as they play a pivotal role in elections and also their key role in industrial and scientific areas is indispensable.