TPO 12 - Question 6Using points and examples from the talk, explain how substitute goods and complement goods influence the demand for a particular product.

It is an irrefutable fact that traffic congestion has become a serious problem in many countries. Although many people believe that constructing more and wider roads is the best solution to mitigate this problem, I would agree with those who believe that building train and subway lines is a better way to reduce traffic jam. On the one hand, there are some clear reasons why the extension and construction of roads can alleviate the volume of traffic. Firstly, the existing roads are not wide enough to accommodate the number of vehicles on the roads. This, in turn, leads to traffic jams, especially in cities. Secondly, if there are better networks of roads, people will be able to take an alternative route to avoid crowd when traffic congestion occurs. However, I do not agree with this view because wider and better roads might encourage people to buy cars. In a short period of time traffic will increase. On the other hand, there are many reasons why some people believe that the government spending money on building train and subway lines is a better decision to tackle traffic jams. One reason is that trains are faster than buses or cars so people tend to prefer a train over a car, especially those who commute to work. This may relieve the pressure on existing roads. Secondly, in many cities, there is not enough land available to construct or extend roads. By contrast, a subway network is built underground and there is no need to worry about scarcity of land. Therefore, building a subway line is certainly a viable option. In conclusion, it is true that constructing more and wider roads reduces traffic but it is a temporary solution as good roads prompt people to buy private vehicles. I firmly believe that governments should allocate funds to build train and subway lines rather than investing money on roads.