TPO-11 - Integrated Writing Task A recent study reveals that people especially young people are reading far less literature, novels, plays, and poems, than they used to. This is troubling because the trend has unfortunate effects for the reading public, for

Nowadays, the development of transportation is significant in the economic growth for the countries. It is important to build sound railway lines for people to commute between cities within the countries. There are lots of arguments about whether the government should make investments on the existing train systems or constructing the new lines. I think both perspectives are valid and the statement should depend on the situation of the countries. Making a new railway system or lines will bridge the gap between the main cities and the suburb areas as well as the countrysides. Although it may cause the huge population flood into the cities for jobs and studies, people who live in the rural areas have equal chances to receive the opportunities to work and learn in the large cities. For example, the high speed railway in Taiwan, which only two approximately 2 hours, for people to commute from the north to the south. It creates lots of job opportunities and bring up the proximity among the cities and the capital. New transportation systems are confirmed to make people's life more convenient that their life before. On the other hand, it is beneficial to enhance the current facilities of the railway systems rather than building a new one. As long as the current train system is improving, people will be willing to take public transportation instead of their own vehicles. Take New York for example. Even though having abundant lines to connect Manhattan and the Rhodes Island, the train environment is filthy and damp. It creates dead corner of the security in the society. Hence, it is important to have safe and clean train systems for the people in the countries. To sum up, there are both pros and cons over the spending on the railway systems. I think the government should take the countries' situation into the consideration before taking the actions. A well-constructed railway systems can make shorten the distances between the cities in the countries. However, we cannot overlook the impact of having safe environment of the existing railway may bring up people's security in the environment.