TPO 02 - Question 2 Some college students choose to take courses in a variety of subject areas in order to get a broad education. Others choose to focus on a single subject area in order to have a deeper understanding of that area.

In this globalized world, the role of a foreign language in an individual’s life is crucial, as compared to the past. Many academicians opine that the adolescents should be taught a foreign language in the elementary school, instead of higher education. Such a practice would have manifold benefits and few drawbacks. To begin with, the positive side of the above notion, the adaptability of a child is superior in his early childhood. Hence, the pupils can learn new skills with an ease in the primary schools, as well as it will last for whole life. Moreover, the knowledge of the multi - language willlanguage will enrich the intelligence of the students. For instance, many surveys conducted on pupils all over the world revealed that, the bilingual students have good communication and analytical skills as compared to the monolingual students. Thus, imparting a new language at an early stage provides the advantages of both a good adaptability and dynamic academic career to the children. On the other hand, there is a detrimental effect on a learning process of the juveniles due to additional subject of a foreign language in their curriculum. Although, the learning of new language needs more focus and efforts, the children could not pay ample attention to the rudimentary subjects. As a result, the attention of a child to the fundamental subjects such as maths and science would decline. For example, the academicians perceived that the grasping rate of the students would be high, if they were taught in the mother languagelanguage, instead of a foreign language. In conclusion, the innumerable benefits of learning the foreign languages at early stages outweigh the disadvantages. Also, by forming the dynamic curriculum of the academics this negative side of the notion could be minimized.