“Tourism should be banned in order to protect local environments, cultures and economies. ” Evaluate the impact of tourism in these three areas.

Introduction A certain School of thought are of the opinion that a total closure of all activities relating to Tourism is a step in the right direction because it is expected to safeguard the immediate environment, peoples ways of life and the economy at large. To a very large extent, I disagree with this except for the area of environment which I believe tourism has a negative impact on. Main Contents Tourism uses nature as part of its products and therefore it creates environmental impacts and it can sometimes contribute to several existing negative effects of tourism on the environment (Buckly, 2011). Transportation sector being a very important area for tourism development provides tourists with best possible movement facility from the sources to their destinations (Yeoman et al. , 2007), various transportation means such as cars, Aeroplanes, trains etc making use of various energy sources such as gas, goal etc, the emission from these sources will most likely release unpleasant gases which will lead to pollution of the air, water and other environmental components. Disease are very likely to reach nearby cities first, but also distant cities with high air travel volumes; a pandemic initiating in Hong Kong can now spread speedily to northern hemisphere cities 111 days earlier than in 1968, (Grais et al. , 2003). We recently saw the outbreak of COVID-19, and how it was transmitted to various countries of the world by travelers coming in to such countries for various reasons of which Tourism tops the list. The continous visit of people to a particular historical site or an area with a Unique culture will in the long run bring about an international recognition to the the way of people living in the area of focus by tourist. International Recognition by tourist and people from various walks of life is expected to then lead to researches, investments etc which is beliefed will improve the Quality of life of the people living in a particular geographical location. In 2016, the travel and tourism sector contributed $2. 3 trillion directly to the global economy. Indirectly, the sector accounted for 10. 2 per cent of global GDP ($7. 6 trillion), 292 million jobs, $1. 5 trillion in exports, and 30 per cent of services exports (World Travel and Tourism Council, 2017). With the help of tourism, persons living within and around a tourist site are expected to be gainfully employed as tour guides, tour drivers, accommodation providers etc due to the various travelling and hotel arrangement of tourists. Also an increase in Tax revenue accruing to the government from various financial and non financial activities influenced by toursits is expected due to various purchases and other expenditures. Summary and Conclusion Finally, having examined and looked at the benefit of tourism on culture and the economy with emphasis on international recognition, higher quality of life, increased employment, increase in tax revenue etc. A critical look at the negative effect on the local environment in the form of environmental pollution and disease transmission helps in enhancing my view that as much as there are numerous benefits of tourism, there are still certain minute areas it has a bad effect on.