In education and employment, some people work hard than others. Why do some people work hard? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

Indeed, some people work hard while others prefer not to push themselves beyond a certain limit. There are various reasons for these different attitudes to work. In my view, passion for one’s work is a desirable quality in an employee, but too much hard work can be counter-productive and unhealthy. There are three main reasons which encourage people to work hard. First, some people work extra shifts to earn more money. They believe that with the extra income earned, they can buy comforts for themselves and their families. Second, newly employed people work for long hours to reach the targets set by the employer to secure their job. They fear that their employer will replace them with more competent people if they fail to reach the target. Finally, some people are very passionate about their career and work. They work mindlessly on the passing of time or their family commitments to achieve their career goals and earn higher social status. However, people who work hard usually face serious problems at the workplace and home. To begin with, people doing long shifts are more likely to commit mistakes due to work pressure. As a result, they make a huge loss to the company which they work for and lose a job. Also, sometimes due to overload of work and odd working hours, people do not give time to their family. Consequently, arguments may arise between partners creating trouble in their relationship. Moreover, many studies have shown that there is an increase in the number of people suffering from a stress disorder and other neurological illnesses due to extensive working hours. To conclude, it is evident that hard work allows people to achieve their career goals and earn more money. However, working hard neglecting one’s health and family is never a risk worth taking.