Tourism sectors in Bangladesh

Although Bangladesh has come a long way in most sectors of the economy over the past five decades, tourism sector sees its nascent position in terms of contribution to GDP in our economy. The prospects of the sector is higher than other neighboring countries. To flourish this sector, a tiny number of challenges which prevail in this sector need to address. The fact that Tourism sectors ---- comprising of activities and services that deliver descent infrastructure, transportation, food, shopping, and hospitality ---contribute ten percent to the GDP globally generates ten percent employment as a whole. It is disheartening to know that Bangladesh has ranked 120th in recent travel and tourism competitiveness report. Bangladesh lags far behind neighboring countries-India, Maldives, and Nepal -when it comes to receiving foreign tourists, investments, and revenue. The country possess COX BAZAR sea beach –the longest sandy sea beach of the world with a length of 120 km. Apart from this, Saint martin’s Island---a small island in the Bay of Bengal; Sundarbans—the world largest mangrove forests, UNESCO world heritage sites such as SHAT GAMBUJ mosque in Bagerhat, Buddhist ruins in Paharpur are some of our best tourist destinations— the exciting places that attract the foreign and domestic tourists in our country. Despite having myriad potential to flourish tourism sectors, a tiny number of challenges lie in this sectors. Undoubtedly, the lack of descent accommodation, smooth transportation, reliable infrastructure are the key hurdles to flourish our tourism sector. Not only that, the country lags behind in projecting our attractions to global tourists through advertisements in international print, electronic media. We have hardly recreational activities for tourists. For instance, after spending at the cox bazar sea beach, tourists do not find any night life activities but to sleep in the hotel room idly. To give a boost to our tourism sectors, Bangladesh should diversify its tourism products and come up with an innovative plan. Government must sit with experts to address the loopholes of this sectors. If we nurture the tourism sectors effectively with enhancing budgetary allocation and formulating appropriate policy, It will allow the country to bring more foreign exchange, eradicate poverty and generate employment—a fact that will give a breathing space to the governments to absorb the economic shocks stemming from Covid-19 Pandemic.