Professional sport as an essential part of human culture

It is often argued that government rather to invest in sports of notable achievement should increase financing of amateur sports. Those who support this point of view state that it will be much more beneficial for society if the authorities focus their efforts on development of the active lifestyle of ordinary citizens instead of spending the money, which supports professional athletes. However, I belong to those who advocates that professional sport is an essential part of human culture and someone should properly finance it. Since ancient times, sports competitions have been playing a significant role in establishing of the cultural dialog between countries. Major sport events unite people and maintain healthy competition. As a rule of thumb, even hostilities are stopped when the Games are held and there is no nation who is proud of its Olympian champions. Unfortunately, these heroes were not be able to get such remarkable achievements without public investments. Thus, we should not consider these costs as impractical. The other argument for focusing on training professional athletes is that they motivate people to do sports and follow the healthy way of life. Undisputed world champions usually care about society and donate their own money to build sport facilities for a new generation of sports competitors. For instance, the most decorated Olympian of all the time, Michael Phelps has opened tremendous swimming center where talented children can work out for free. To conclude, government should not cut expenses on the sports of high achievements because Olympians are those who inspire us to go beyond limits, unite nations and serve to society as a glorious reminder that everything is possible.