Tourism is an ever growing industry. What benefits do you think tourism brings to individuals and society.

The tourism industry is one of the world's largest sectors with the potential to substantially contribute to the socio-economic development of individuals and nations at large. This essay shall take a comprehensive look at the benefits of tourism to people and countries. One obvious social impact of tourism is the fostering of unity and friendship between individuals or nations. It brings people from different backgrounds, cultures and traditions together, as a result promotes harmony. Hence, lessening tribalism within a country and racism between nations. To illustrate, the Osun-Osgbo festival attracts people from all parts of the world including white westerns, thus reducing the scourge of racism and promotes unity. Therefore, tourism encourages peace and consensus between nations. In addition to the social impacts, tourism also generates wealth and jobs for individuals and foreign revenue for countries. Local businesses located around tourist attractions tend to benefit from the patronage of tourists. Also, countries earn foreign exchange from tourism, hence boosting the economy. According to the report of the World Tourism Organisation in 2018, international tourists spent $1. 3 billion per day and in total $462 billion in the year 2014. Therefore, governments around the world must develop the tourism sector to stimulate economic growth. Given the points highlighted above, tourism is vital to the advancement of the economy as individuals and countries profits. Also, it promotes national and international peace and accord, thereby curtailing hostile behaviour and war.