Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

In this competitive world, the state of true happiness has become really difficult to achieve. Happiness has a various meaning for various people. In my opinion, a number of people struggle a lot to achieve happiness, whereas others are chronically happy, irrespective of the situation. This essay will explore why it is difficult to define happiness and what are the various factors influencing happiness. As we know, various people have different levels of needs. These unsatisfied needs further stimulate an individual to act in order to satisfy them. Once the needs of a specific level are satisfied, an individual starts aspiring to move on to the next level needs. Fulfillment of needs leads to satisfaction which further provides happiness to a person. Therefore, we can say that happiness is a by-product of satisfaction. Since people perceive happiness differently; they find it difficult to quantify happiness. Moreover, happiness is nothing on the contrary a state of mind. For example, a highly affluent person may not be contented with what he has; on the contrary, a poor person can be happy while struggling for a day’s meal. Similarly, there are various determiners of happiness. The first and foremost is a feeling of content. A person who has a feeling of a beneficial sense of discontent always remains happy. In other words, such a person is happy with his work and life but still aspires for more and more to learn and to achieve. The other factor is the locus of control or the key to happiness. A person is either controlled by the external factors, or he is capable of controlling them. As a result, his happiness is decided by the other people or things, not by his own mind. If people are able to control their minds, then they can control their own happiness, no matter what the circumstances are. To conclude, happiness depends on our attitudes and perceptions. As far as we have the keys to happiness in our hands, nothing external in this world can affect the level of our happiness and satisfaction.