In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

For mony people around the world, the preferred method of transportakion is high-speed rail. Communters travelling to and from work rely on the safety and efficiencyo whill Eourists appreciake the convenience and novelky that trains provide. Others bekeve thak highways, busses and regular trains should be improved before newo hioh-speed knes ore added. Safety is cheif among concerns for those who travel to work or school on a reguor basis. If One drives a cas, they have to concentrake on the rood not onky to avoid accidents but also to prevent other arivers From causinga problem on the road. High- speed rail allows the comunter to leave the driving to the professional conkrolling the train, allowiing them to get some work done while getting to work safely. In addition, people tend to move further and further away from city centres, where land and houses are more affordable. High-speed rail allows these commuters to travel greaker distances in a shorter ammount of time. There is a flow -on effect here, because if we can reduce the number of cars on the road, we can also cut down on Eraffic jams and road delays. On the other hand, high-speed trains are expensive, and some believe this money could be spend on repairing motorways which are used by cars, busses and motorcycles. Another possibility woua be to use this money Eo build more regular communter trains and busses to service the ever-expanding urban populations. Moreover, boaks and ferries could benefit from a budget which focuses more on existing forms of transport. pay should be spent on the type of Eransport which will have the most benefit to all citizens. In addition, we need to take into account how much the environment is In the end, public transport is an issue which affects us all. The taxes which we domaged by fossil fuels and pollution. Eherefore, I believe in order to move forward, we need to embrace the idea of high-speed rail so that future generations can continue to kve safeky and efficiently.