Tourism is a double-edged sword.

There is no doubt that tourism has now become more and more growing. Many people hold the view that tourism is a double-edged sword since this trend has both advantages and disadvantages. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion and this essay may discuss the positive and negative effects that the tourism industry has on local residents and the near environment before a conclusion is drawn. On the positive side, developed tourism can help to bring an enormous source of income for native inhabitants. This is due to the fact that more and more souvenirs and local products can be sold to visitors such as traditional food and clothes and therefore, it can not only help to improve the living standards of the local communities but it can also make a huge contribution to the development of the visited countries. Furthermore, the environment can also reap the benefit of tourism as the authorities often invest much in preserving the landscapes and their rich biodiversity to attract more tourists who are interested in going sightseeing. On the other hand, as indigenous residents may copy the lifestyles like wearing shorts and drinking alcohol when having access to various international cultures brought by the intrusion of outsiders, the development of tourism can pose a threat to the lives of local people. This may lead to the loss of native cultural identities and local traditional customs. Moreover, in terms of environmental impacts of tourism, vehicles’ exhaust, which is a result of overloading transport systems during peak tourist seasons, pollutes the air and severely affects the nearby ecosystem. Consequently, the close fauna and floral species may be on the verge of extinction. In conclusion, an increase in the number of people who engage in traveling is both advantageous and disadvantageous to people in those communities as well as the local environment.