Tourism has negative environmental impacts on tourist areas. What are these impacts? How can damaging impacts be lessened?

"Tourism is a high revenue generating sector for any country"However, let us begin by examining the repercussions it has on the environment. We will first list down the effects and then discuss in detail how to reduce the impact of these harmful outcomes of tourism. Tourists coming to a destination in large volume can hamper the environment in following ways-1. Use of more non renewable resources, the more the leisure seekers come, they will need more resources to meet the basic needs. For example transportation of tourists will require more fuel, which is an exhaustible resource. 2. Hampering the natural scenic beauty. Increasing number of tourist will demand more accommodating facilities which will require more land, thus, harming the environmental beauty. 3. Harming the ecosystem. The disturbance in the ecological cycle is caused by more demand of food by more visitors. We can work on reducing the impact by - Limiting the number of tourists per year and diving them equally throughout 12 months. Encouraging homestays so the environment is not at risk and more peple earn thier livelihood. providing tourists with local food experiences and seasonal produce rather then fulfilling what they need. In conclusion, tourism is like backbone for any economy however certain steps can be taken to regulate the economy without doing much harm to environment and also empowering the locals.