Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interest, whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Some Employers ask for personal information from the job applicants. While few people believe that this information is important, rest believe otherwise. This essay will discuss why this information is ultimately relevant even though often people thing against it. To begin with, personal details such as hobbies help to judge a candidate’s mental wellbeing. Since, certain companies look for candidates with high IQ level and great problem solving skills, someone who plays Sudoku in his leisure time will have a greater edge over someone who does cooking as a pastime activity. For example, Google inc. always seek for aspirant’s personal information to understand whether the person is right fit for the applied position. Additionally, such information is required to understand whether the applicant will be able to fulfil his duty as some jobs require attending late night meetings and many married candidates are not willing to take up such calls during the night. Therefore, such information helps employers to gain confidence in person’s ability for his future work commitments. On the contrary, people often argue that knowing aspirant’s person detail is of no use for the employer as this is not a reliable method to weigh anybody’s skills since such data could be misleading. At numerous occasions, interviewer forms unnecessary stereotypical notions against the interviewee after knowing his hobbies or marital status, which in turn could lead them to reject a potential candidate for the job. Although certain jobs demand the aspirants to provide personal information, majority employers these days are not even bothered to collect this data to avoid unnecessary prejudice against them. For instance, Amazon Inc only takes interview on the basis of required skill set and have stopped collecting any personal details of the applicants. In conclusion, in order to judge a candidates overall potential, it is important and useful to collect candidate's personal information. Even though, in few instances, this may lead to misjudgement the aspirant's correct skillset, overall it helps to find the right candidate for the job.