Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

It is a common idea nowadays, that zoos are only harming the animals that they are keeping. There are several suggestions on how to solve this problem and how to integrate animals into their natural environment. There is a significant amount of animals living in cages nowadays and this has a negative effect on the lives’ of the creatures. By putting them in small spaces, these animals start to develop mental and physical problems. They can not participate in nature’s ecological cycle, so they can not go hunting, but they can not be hunted either. They also lack natural stimulation, so their sensory and moving skills diminish. A possible solution would be to open more alternative zoos. This would mean, that the animals would stay in their natural environment and humans would visit them in closed cages. This would be beneficial for all parties(except existing zoos, who profit from the price of tickets that visitors buy), because the animals would have free roaming space, and human would be able to see them in their actual living space. These establishments already exist, so there are multiple zoos, and Safaris where the visitors are put in special cars, from which they are protected from predators, but can still see them. In conclusion, this is a real problem, but it could be easily solved. Unfortunately, it is not in the interest for the people who make money at this, to make animals’ lives’ better.