Task 2 : International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is a concern about its impact over local inhabitants and the environment. Do disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the adavantages?

Tourism is a very big industry in the modern time and is growing quite rapidly. Thousands of people travel everywhere to various destinations every year. Arguments have come up regarding the benefits and negative impacts of tourism in places and on its local inhabitants and environment, however, I believe that there are more advantages than disadvantages of international tourism. People travel for various reasons; we travel for business purposes, holidays, visits friends and relatives etc. Travelling is mostly seen as a recreational activity. Tourism has many advantages. Tourism can play a tremendous role in a country's economy, the more the tourists visit a country and spend money there the better it is for the country; that way more money is circulated within the country and even the stability of their currency rate of exchange persists if not improve. Vendors and shops get to sell more goods and make an income. Tourism also has non-monetary advantages; it brings cultures and people closer. People from all around the world get to share their culture with each other and even learn more. This is a good opportunity in education. Tourism seems to have some disadvantages too; However, I believe the problems caused by tourism are not something that cannot be solved or prevented. A lot of people believe that tourism can destroy or deviate culture and causes quite an impact on visited locations such as pollution and littering. People can adhere to their beliefs and way of life if they want to; no one can really forcefully influence someone to change from their morals and ethics. Pollution can be avoided by increasing use of environmentally friendly vehicles used for tours and rentals, warnings and visual education on littering and smoking, specific times can be allocated for tours to certain areas, such as peak times where local feel uncomfortable due to many foreigners. Where there are problems there can always be solutions. Tourism can bring great advantages for any place in many ways and is a 'win-win' exchange process. The very few problems caused can be always avoided or taken care of. I believe tourism should be highly promoted, specially in traditional and poor countries with natural beauty such as Bangladesh.