tourism good or bad.Discuss

Recent years have witnessed tremendous Improvements in tourism. It is thought by some that the impact of tourism on the residents and environment is adverse, while others believe that it is advantageous for the economy. Certainly, there are 02 sides to this concern, one benefit being the increase in GDP, and the disadvantage being the loss of culture. On the one side, one of the primary beneficial factors is the positive impact on economic development. In other words, when more tourists travel to a certain country, the foreign currency is being spent within the country which improves the gross domestic product and as a result, it increases the per capita income of individuals. For instance, the tourism sector recorded the highest income in the service sector in Sri Lanka in past years, which impacted to lift the domestic income; however, when tourism declined after the Covid pandemic the income dipped drastically which explains the importance of foreign currency towards the local economy. On the flip side, one of the negative impacts is the loss of local culture. This means that countries are enriched with numerous specific traditions and when foreigners commute to these regions, they sometimes, do not adhere to the cultural requirements. This becomes serious when the children of those locals follow the footpath of those visitors and adapt their behaviors rather than following their traditions. For instance, Hikkaduwa was a religious region where they worshiped several gods in that region. However, the later generations did not follow those traditions but followed the traditions which were brought by different foreign visitors, and some even married to them in search of a better life. This made the culture disappear from the territory. To conclude, even though, negatives are present such as loss of cultures due to tourism, a nation can be benefitted far better with enormous development by the increase in national income due to tourism. Therefore, if this modern concept is utilized under effective monitoring methods, a nation can be developed significantly.