These days, while some people tend to think that playing sport is simply an activity people do for leisure, others would argue that it has a significant role to play within society.

These days, while some people tend to think that playing sport is simply an activity people do for leisure, others would argue that it has a significant role to play within society. I believe that sport does have an essential function in society, but can also be enjoyed as a leisure activity by people. In this essay, I will try to give my humble opinion and write conclusion at the end. On the one hand, it is clear that sport is a high leisure activity which can help to relax and to be fit as well. Millions of people in the world like to participate in sporting activities to be healthy. Also, people play sport for many reasons, including, to be fit, follow the health schedule and take their mind of stress of daily life. In my humble opinion, these reasons would indicate that people get involved in sporting activities as a form of leisure. On the other hand, though most people play sport for personal benefits, it does also serve as usual function for society. First, sport creates a healthy society. It is known that people who exercise are happier and healthier, less prone to certain mental and physical ailments, and reduce the burden on the health system. Second, sport unites people and creates a sense of solidarity in societies. One can witness when strangers unite to support their country’s football team. Finally, sports teach people many life skills and lessons that will help them work more effectively in their lives, making them a better place to live. To sum up, I would like to say that although people play sport as leisure time activity, it has also advantages to the society.