.Tourism: Advantages and disadvantages of development of the tourism industry, travel agencies etc

Although holidaymakers contribute hugely to the economies of many destinations, the influx of tourists can also cause serious issues. This essay will demonstrate how tourism can transform the tourism industry travel agencies etc. . . areas but will show that it can also lead to threat to domestic culture and tradition. One of the main advantages is the number of jobs the tourist industry creates for local people. The many hotels, restaurants, shops and other facilities provide employment for the residents. A good example of a country that is taking full advantage of booming tourist industry, travel agencies etc. . . with everyone now having a job, the general standard of living has greatly increased. The economic boost to these sectors has also had a massive impact on the national economy which is growing year on year largely due to tourism. However, an increase in holidaymakers can lead to some issues. One of the most serious of these is threat to domestic culture and tradition. When tourist visit a country they come along with their own culture and tradition, which lead to unruly behaviour of the employees. Moreover, the huge popularity of the beautiful stunning architecture with visitors from around the world has had a negative impact on local residents. In conclusion, although mass tourism can sometimes result in deterioration of culture and tradition, it greatly improves the lives of most people as well as contributing significantly to the national economy. Hence, the positive effects of developing a tourist industry and travel agencies.