TOPIC: THE RANGE OF TECHNOLOGY AVAILABLE TO PEOPLE IS INCREASING THE GAP BETWEEN THE RICH AND THE POOR.

It is universally accepted that recent decades have witnessed radical changes in humanity’s lives thanks to technological advancements. However, the public still remains divided on the influences that technology has on our lives, particularly when it comes to income disparity. Some people are of the opinion that having technological innovations at our disposal is the main driver behind the prevalent wealth gap. Although this argument is judicious to some extent, I strongly believe that the significant role of technology could not be discounted. On the one hand, some people are proposing that technology developments are to blame for widening the increasingly gap between the rich and the poor, and justifiably so. The key rationale in favor of this view is that technological advancements have made certain groups who are already prosperous become exponentially richer compared to others. For example, the past decades have seen what once were humble technology startups morph into massive multi-billion-dollar enterprises. Consequently, the owners of those big businesses have amassed great wealth and gone on to become social elites. This, however, does not happen to most common people who have low financial ability. On the other hand, the belief that technology is merely conducive to the one percent seems to be an overly grim view. As a matter of fact, clear examples about how the technological innovations have lifted innumerable lives out of poverty, are universally omnipresent. For instance, scores of city dwellers now owe their livelihoods to Grab’s heiling network, of which operation is based on advanced technology. This is a powerful testament to how technological growth has improved the impoverished inhabitants’ living standards and bridged social inequality. In conclusion, while technology breakthroughs would bring a number of merits to the affluent, it seems to me that the range of technology is far more beneficial for the destitute to escape poverty.