Advantages and Disadvantages of children using smart phones

In the 21st century of technology, the usage of electronic devices such as smart phone, tablets and computers is becoming more and more prevalent among people including teenagers, children and even the toddlers. Some parents leave their children with smartphone while they are working or some use them for teaching their kids. However, there are both pros and cons of children using smartphones. In this essay, I will emphasize on how smartphones can benefit children and also how they can harm them. Let’s start by discussing about the advantages of children utilizing smartphones. One of the main positives is that children can learn the enormous amount of knowledge online. There are tons of educational materials for different ages ranging from toddlers to teenagers. If they find difficulties with their homework of if they are not clear with the lessons they can look up on the internet immediately. For disabled children, homeschooling and online learning are accessible through the internet. Secondly, using smartphones can bring good social communications with people. Children can chat with their classmates and friends and discuss about their homework or school project. Also, parents can keep in touch with their children when they are away from home and they can even install GPS tracking system for the sense of security. Turning to the other side of the discussion, improper usage of smartphones and other electronic devices may harm the health of children. In many cases, children become so addicted to mobile games and play them throughout the night. This can hugely disturb their sleeping hours and consequently lead to deterioration of general health. Another issue is that without proper restriction, children can get access to mature contents such as violent or sexually-explicit scenes form the movies. This earlier exposure to adult contents may affect children’s behavior as well as their cognitive ability. All things considered, children using smart phones is not a pure advantage. Using the latest technology can make your child easier with life but in many cases people find smartphones are not suitable for children. Therefore, proper parental guidance is necessary especially in young children for them to be benefited by using smart phones.