Topic: Online privacy is an alarming concern to people using social networking sites. People often tend to put personal information deliberately and unintentionally on the Internet without thinking about its negative consequences. Does its positive side outweigh its negative consequences?

In the era of technological advancements, the usage of social networking sites is undoubtedly necessary. In order to access such platforms, people unconsciously disclose their personal data, exposing them to online privacy risks. Although the revelation of private information can be profitable to some degree, I subscribe to the notion that the potential threat from this action is greater than its merits. One the one hand, it is true that both technology conglomerates and online users reap enormous benefits from revealing personal information. Firstly, Internet developers are enabled to further enhance current technology regarding smart algorithms and artificial intelligence. Face recognition, one of the most prioritized technologies of major companies in the presen-day world, has increasingly been advanced thanks to physiological characteristic provided by users. From the perspective of customers, they are set to get access to cyber amenities and smart apps on condition that their private data is revealed. As a matter of fact, such social platforms allowing people to closely interact as Facebook are inaccessible if private information is excluded. Undoubtedly, the profits brought by supplying information worth proper recognition. On the other hand, there exist substantial risks of data disclosure that can overshadow its myriad bright sides. The foremost threat is that internet users are prone to constant manipulation of online service providers and advertisers. Since the majority of networking sites these days can track usage patterns, suggested advertisements or even spam from online fraudsters are likely to emerge unfavorably, which not only disrupt user experience but also steal personal data. Furthermore, people may suffer from cybercrime or harassment as a consequence of data breach. Sophisticated hackers are able to install malware into advertisements or other unauthorized files, hence blackmailing users with the stolen sensitive contents. In this way, it can be seen that information provision does more harm than good to users. In conclusion, I hold that the aforementioned jeopardy of giving personal information on online platforms is more considerable in comparison with the upsides. Even though leaking data is inevitable in the wake of technology, arisen problems of this phenomenon can by no means overlooked.