Topic: People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who just focus on only one skill.

Radio astronomers and experts in many countries have been investigating contact with worlds beyond Earth for many years, yet there are some people who have serious doubts such work. Therefore, in this essay, I will examine both views. Looking at matters from the perspective of supporters of transmitting streams of complex coding into space to find intelligent life eventually will result in a reply. This would help us to find out more about their existence, and also further humankind’s understanding of other civilisations very different to our own. Moreover, that trying to connect with them will help us to develop a much greater understanding of the universe. Considering own past it is clear that communication with other civilisations, for instance, Europeans with Chinese helped us understand more about ourselves. However, people who oppose such actions have valid reasoning, because we may expose ourselves to outside dangers through such endeavours to let them know we are here. The fear held by those who are against deliberate contact is alien cultures may not be benevolent, but hostile. Importantly, there is the greater impact that if contact was established with a vastly advanced civilisation, then the effect could be devastating, a clear example is that of the Spanish and Portuguese explorers on the less advanced people of South America during the fifteenth century. In conclusion, even though I also have some anxiety about the consequences which it might bring, weighing up both standpoints, my opinion is that on the whole learning about what is beyond Earth, we can greatly extend our knowledge, and what is more, accelerate our own technological advancement.