Topic: Compare and contrast the relationship between parents and children in two different cultures.

Over the past few years, the study of the relationship between parents and their offspring has received huge attention from scientific experts. The most evident researching area is the division of upbringing patterns between Western and Eastern countries. From my perspective, whether there are certain similarities in the family sentiment to a child, the discrepancies regarding some parental teaching methods contradict vividly among the Western and its counterpart. To begin with, it is undeniable that both parents from the West and the East possess the fostering nature towards children. However, there are some aspects in the thought of literacy for a child that polarized vividly the contrast between East and West parents. For instance, in many families in the UK, children are encouraged to make decisions during their formative years. They were free to choose one of the most intriguing artistic subjects to learn, instead of forcing to adopt all categories of learning. Meanwhile, in Asia, children are regarded to be well-educated when they were sent by their parents to extra-curricular centers; to develop profundity in natural science subjects such as math, physics. Some subjects about creativity such as drawing and music are not highly recognized in Asian parents, these subjects are judged to be time-wasting and occupying valuable time in schools. Furthermore, children nowadays are taught to develop a sense of independence differently among parents from both sides of the globe. In the US, children are obliged to live outside of their parents’ homes to afford a life of an adult. It is a common pattern in the West that children take up many part-time jobs while pursuing university education to earn a living. Nevertheless, many Asian parents are more protective of their children. In Vietnam, it is occasional to witness a child living far from his parents completely and to be financially independent when they are eighteen. This pattern in the East tends to create more close-knit relationships in the family, but also brings a downside effect that some children might develop over-reliance on adults. To conclude, even though there are correlations in the relationship between parents and children from some Western countries and their counterparts, there are many disparities in the thought of parents in these areas about education and independence that the resemblance of nurturing between the West and the East is being eclipsed completely.