In some countries it is illegal to refuse people applying for jobs because of their age. Is it a positive or a negative development, in your opinion?

In a number of nations, it is illegal to reject candidates on the basis of age limit. I think, this is appreciable law since it bears plenty of merits; however, a few demerits are there too. Hence, this essay is an attempt of discussing the given notion in detail. On one hand, in the absence of law protecting the right to apply for a job without age-based discrimination, people will be unable to get equal opportunities. Moreover, it has been a proven fact that abundance of people are getting jobs associated with computers and languages during their late thirties. For instance, technological giants such as such as Apple Inc. , Google, Facebook as Tesla prefer to hire employees on the basis of their knowledge instead of age limit as they believe, it is mind power that matters the most rather than physical one. In addition, without this restriction, companies may find employee according to their need. To exemplify, TATA Group was unable to search for right chairperson owing to minimum age limit of 60 and afterwards by ignoring this law they hired Cyrus Mistry at the age of 45. Therefore, this law is beneficial in getting the best employees. On the other hand, this concept also invites some weird outcomes. In my opinion, how an aged person can be given job in military and police sectors owing to less physical power? In-brief, in aforementioned areas, a person should be fit as fiddle and with an increase in age, person’s ability of moving declines considerably. As a result, for such jobs, age limit should be restricted. To conclude, after discussing both schools of thought, I would like to say that the bright sides of discussed law outperform dark ones.