In some countries there are more young people choosing to enroll in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Going to university is becoming less popular among young people in some countries, and often they choose to give a preference to vocational trainings instead. POSITION. In my opinion, university studies are important for building a successful career, so it is much more beneficial than taking up on-the-job training. It is clear that training in the workplace saves much time, which can be spent more efficiently. For example, there is no need to spend several years at university to get a degree and one can focus purely on areas they want to grow in and develop. It leads to getting fast results, which is also important in today's world where reacting fast is one of the positive characteristic of a person. Another further benefit is apprenticeship gives more hands-on experience rather than theory. It results in better outcomes since more success is due to decisions successfully implemented into practice. However, some companies are not ready to spend their resources on teaching their workers, but prefer university graduates instead. For example, most companies in Ukraine prefer to have an employee with a higher education degree since it underlines such abilities as coping with stress, uncertainty, deadlines which may be developed during obtaining their diploma. As a result, less career opportunities are available for those who choose vocational trainings. Moreover, skipping tertiary educations also means loosing a chance to learn other subjects, even if they are only theory-based. It gives more background and makes students more erudite. Consequently, such young people are deprived of an opportunity to learn versatile subjects which can influence a choice of their future profession as well. To conclude, clearly there are lots of advantages to starting a career with an on-the-job training. However, if to take into account demands of many employers and requirements, attending university definitely is more valuable and gives more opportunities.