TOPIC # 57 Some movies are seriously designed to make the audience think. Other movies are primarily to amuse and entertain. Which type of movie do you prefer?

Each kind of movies has its own fans and viewers, however comedies, thrillers, and sitcoms are more popular with different segments of the society. I definitely prefer to enjoy the entertaining movies for the following reasons. First and foremost, serious movies might not be to taste of everyone. But many people including children, juveniles, adults, and also elders usually are excited about watching amusing ones. Especially, when family members have assembled to spend a quality time together, entertaining movies are largely the first choice to watch as it is suitable for everyone. They can laugh, connect with each other, and make an enjoyable atmosphere. In contrast, a serious movie demands a very serious atmosphere without any noise and interruptions so its viewers can concentrate and get the general message of the movie. Secondly, after a long day working or studying, watching an entertaining movie can be very relaxing. It can take our mind off the daily troubles, and the only thing we have to do is just to sit back or recline while we are eating snacks, and watch it. For example, every time I get exhausted of studying, I watch an episode of “Two and a half men” TV series for diversion. It relieves my nervous strain because I laugh a lot. Then, I can resume studying more energetically. Last but not least, most of comedies or sitcoms are also to make the audience think and reconsider. They are entertaining and funny, but they also deliver some messages in jests. Social shortcomings, family problems, or mannerism are often the subject of this kind of movies. They use humor, so as not to offend anyone, to promote public awareness about daily and common inappropriate behaviors and habits. For instance, the “Two and a half men” TV series points out that how self-centered manner, heavy drinking, and irresponsibility may impact the whole life of a person, and prevent him from settling down. To sum it up, I believe amusing movies are more proper to watch with family members at spare times, they can soothe the nerves, and they also might be instructive as much as they are entertaining.