TOPIC # 40 The expression “ never, never give up” means keep trying and never stop working for your goals.

According to Edison, human’s greatest weakness lies in giving up, and the most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time. I firmly believe in this expression. I feel this way because we do not know when we are about to reach our goal, we would regret about it later, and our efforts and investment would be gone for nothing. First, we never know how close we are to attain our dream. If we do believe in our dream and it is practical, we should be cautious that the only way to reach it is persistence. We might after a few attempts get disappointed and give up without realizing that we were just a step away from achieving it. To illustrate, if Edison had stopped his experiments after 999 vain tries, he would have never become able to invent the light bulb. Second, man never forgets about his failures and dreams. These regrets would stay with us for lifetime, and with observing every similar condition in other people, we would become upset about losing our opportunities and not following our dreams. For instance, one who surrenders after a few unsuccessful attempts on becoming a doctor, would feel sorry for himself every time he visit a medic. Although, he could have become a very prominent one. Third, it is better not to start our mission rather than to abandon it in the middle since it would be a huge waste of time and energy. Sometimes, we decide to accomplish one especial aim, so we plan, put a lot of effort on it, and we also spend money, however when we come across some hardships or troubles, we would be overcome with disappointment, and would simply quit. Thus, our hard work, time, and money would be gone for nothing. It is really beneficial to stick to our goal until we fulfill it. To sum it up, I think man should struggle until he attain his goal. This is because nobody knows for sure when he is going to accomplish, we would regret about our abandoned dreams later in life, and our time, money, and energy would be depleted without producing any reasonable result.