TOPIC # 38 learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

Some people argue that people who visit foreign countries are more open to differences and they are able to understand others in a better way. I strongly agree with this statement because of the reasons which will be discussed in this essay. It is scientifically proven that the interaction with people of different cultures can affect one’s personality to a great extent. When people go to foreign countries, they have to face unfamiliar situations. Living in such unfamiliar situations makes people more adaptable to different circumstances. Thus they will become more tolerant of change/difference. This personality trait will help them to take more risks and accept changes in the future. As these kinds of people are more exposed to different lifestyles, customs and food habits, they understand others better. By contrast, people who are not exposed to different cultures will be more narrow-minded than people who travel overseas frequently. It is difficult for them to adapt to unfamiliar situations compared to people who travelled and got exposed to different cultures. This is evident among uneducated people living in rural areas. They do not have much exposure to the outside world. They are very comfortable with their locality and they follow only traditional way of life. It is very difficult for them to embrace change. And also, it is difficult for them to understand and accept people who follow a different lifestyle. In conclusion, people who are exposed to different cultures and practices are more open to different situations. They are tolerant and venture into new avenues with an open mind and they understand people better than people who do not travel much.