Topic 17: Write a paragraph of about 200-250 words to express you opinion in the following topic: “Some people say that children spending much time working on computers is actually good preparation for their education and their working lives”.

Due to the successful development of technology, our society has a great process of improving social life. Some people believed that the invention of computers would have positive impacts on children’s education and working lives. However, from my perspective, spending too much time working on computers may bring lots of disadvantages. First of all, computers can take variously side effects on users’ health. When using a long time to work on computers, children may be seriously affected on eyesight and posture. They have to take eye-to-eye with the screen for long hours, and their eyes directly contact with green light lead to some eye problems like short-sighted, cataract, dried and tired eyes. Moreover, sitting too much before a computer without spending time on outside activities can cause hunchback phenomenon and even overweight, stress and pressure. Secondly, working on computers may bring about distraction and laziness. Due to a wide range of gimmicks on games, applications by advertisers, users can be attracted and may neglect their work with ease. They may become addicted to fascinating content on the Internet leads to resort to computers abusingly. When it has become a habit of users, they may be less intent on working. As a result, greatly using computer may create a lazy working style at own individual. Last but not least, using computer to work can have negative effects on children’s social skills. Working with a computer means that users won’t have opportunities to work with their partners, colleagues, boss, … in real conditions. All the jobs have completed by the Internet, so they can’t have a chance to improve their soft skills like communication, co-operation and other significant ones. In conclusion, children may be under the onslaught of depending hugely on making use of computers to work. Hopefully, the use of this device will be adequately supervised and be done limited by users.