Topic 15: Many Vietnamese people say that “To make the economy truly integrate with other countries in the world, we should remove the Lunar New Year and celebrate the Solar New Year. ”

It is undeniable that Lunar New Year called Tet has considered as the biggest traditional festival that can bring people together so as to celebrate a sacred and meaningful annual event. However, in recent times, many Vietnamese people have the idea of removing Tet and celebrate the Solar New Year due to the integration with the world economy. From my point of view, I totally antagonize with this statement. To begin with, organizing the Solar New Year can be the reason that will eliminate Vietnamese customs. It is a fact that the Tet holiday is one of the most long-established festivals in Viet Nam which is an occasion when members of a family get together, pay their honour to their ancestors and pray for luck in the new year. Removing this customary event and celebrating the Solar New Year means eradicating all of Vietnamese cultures and traditions. Vietnamese citizens will resign their manners and have to approach other new cultures. Therefore, Vietnamese people’s culture and tradition will be assimilated with other countries and won’t have their own identity. Another reason is that basing on the Gregorian calendar to organize the Solar New Year can be unreasonable for people’s living habits. According to Vietnam’s history, our Vietnamese citizens are original rice farmers. Like other countries in Asia, their lives had to be connected closely with lunar calendar. In other words, the lunar calendar has been regarded as a significant role in Vietnamese persons’ life. They will tend to be hard-working continually almost days a year and then enjoying holidays and festivals that have been held based on lunar calendar, especially the Tet holiday – an extended vacation. Removing this will turn upside down people’s life considerably. In conclusion, there can be no argument that the Lunar New Year is playing a crucial part in Vietnamese people’s culture and tradition. Tet holiday marked our identity, and it represented our nation’s soul. It can’t be replaced by the Solar New Year for the purpose of integrating other worldwide countries’ economies.