Topic 14: Advertisements on mass media, especially on TV are misleading people, making them buy things that are not as good as they are advertised. Hence, some people think that advertising should be banned.

Advertising has considered as the most effective way of increasing sales of the advertised products. Some people believed that advertisements had had negative effects on people. From my point of view, I totally see eye to eye with this statement. To begin with, advertisements haven’t assured their quality so that they can be harmful to people’s health. There is a great number of corporations having illegitimate behaviour so as to take in users. In manufacturing, they may take measures to reduce resources and quality of goods to make personal profits. However, in the advertisement, all of the products are recognized that they will ensure the best quality to consumers. Moreover, some immense organizations will use strategies such as hiring famous stars to endorse their products so that they can attract enormous buyers’ attention. Therefore, there will be more and more consumers who highly believed in these deceptive tricks, can use these low-quality goods widely without knowing the horrible truth behind them. Another disadvantage of advertisement is it can be a tool wasting money in customers’ pockets. Because of fascinating advertisements, buyers sometimes buy what tempts them without the insight of what they really need. Impressive videos, pictures will be bound to leave an imprint on them. Therefore, they will buy goods by trend and without precise purposes whether products are expensive. For instance, customers warmly welcomed and highly supported when renowned companies and brands launch new products. Notably, the phone industry has received an immense response from buyers. When some corporations such as Apple, Samsung or Oppo launch their new version of the phone, people tend to spend money on it though they have their own still useful mobile phone before. In conclusion, while some people believed that advertisements’ aims are helpful, I object to this declaration due to the adverse effects that promotions have brought to buyers. Hopefully, they will be banned from slide showing on mass media, especially on TV so as to reduce the drawbacks they will influence on people.