Topic 10: Should are subjects be optional at school?

School curriculum plays a significant role in improving students’ abilities and advancing their intellect. Some people believed that the curriculum including a wide range of compulsory subjects is reasonable for pupils. However, from my point of view, subjects should be optional at school. First and foremost, children may reduce stress and pressure when having an opportunity to choose what subjects to learn. They mustn’t take a wide range of exams for different subjects. Moreover, because of the minor issues they have to study, they won’t need to spend too much time reviewing and covering a large amount of knowledge before the exams. Children will have free time to entertain themselves by doing exercises, playing games, listening to music and other fascinating activities. Secondly, optional subjects at school can help students considerably advance their potential. Pupils will have the right to opt for the subjects they really want to absorb knowledge and improve. When studying according to their intent, they will have the motivation to complete it well rather than take compulsory subjects. Undoubtedly, reducing unnecessary subjects for students has created a suitable environment for learners to focus on and train their optional subjects greatly so as to improve themselves better. Last but not least, subjects should be optional at school to assist the teachers in appreciating pupils accurately. Almost all learners will have difficulty in acquiring knowledge in some academic subjects that are not related to their wish. Therefore, optional subjects will be the best choice for them since they can master subjects they have strength in instead of studying a wide range of subjects. Consequently, teachers will find their real talents at own aspects of subjects, and their appreciation will be exact. In conclusion, although absorbing knowledge in a large number of subjects is significant for students, subjects should be optional at school because of the benefits that it has brought about. Hopefully, this method of learning will widely apply in almost all schools in our country.