Topic 1: Compare or contrast two places that you have visited. How are these places alike or different? Consider each place’s geography, weather, food, language, etc.

Hanoi and Saigon are always places worth visiting when traveling to Vietnam. They are famous for the growth of the economy, the opportunity for a career, or where they are in a country; as a result, some people believe that they are similar. On the contrary, there are three distinctions between them: culture, weather, and cuisine. One important dissimilarity between Hanoi and Saigon is their culture. Based on historical pasts, Hanoi is much older than Saigon, so it is not difficult to come across the ancient architecture. For example, One Pillar Pagoda, Hoan Kiem Lake, The Temple of Literature, etc. In contrast, due to its modernity, Saigon has lavish buildings and bustling streets. Bitexco Financial Tower, Landmark 81, or Bui Vien Walking Street, for instance, are easily recognized when visiting Saigon. According to their characteristics, it is true that there is no better choice than Hanoi for those who are interested in serenity and immemorial style, while Saigon is the best option for people who favor the glamor of the urban city. Another dissimilarity between Hanoi and Saigon is the weather. Hanoi, which is located in northern Vietnam, has variable weather with four seasons: spring, summer, autumn, and winter. Every season in Hanoi is not only beautiful but also has its own unique features. In particular, spring and autumn are the best seasons for tourists to visit Hanoi because of its natural landscape. On the other hand, the dry and rainy seasons of southern Vietnam, especially in Saigon, are extremely severe weather conditions. The average temperature is from 30 to 35 degrees Celsius in the dry season. In addition, a long spell of the rainy season can last in succession, or a showery day can happen in a few minutes. Hence, people usually visit Saigon from April to July because it is milder than another month of the dry season. Visitors can choose one of them to travel depending on their activities and the weather. Last but not least, the cuisine is simply to distinguish Hanoi from Saigon. Pho, which is well-known as a symbol of Hanoi, is highly recommended. Moreover, many street foods are outstanding in Hanoi but not in Saigon, including Nem Chua Ran, Bun Cha, Bun dau mam tom. Unlike the capital city, Com tam is the most popular dish at either the food stalls or restaurant in Saigon. Besides, the best advice for travelers is to find some local dishes such as Banh mi, Bun thit nuong, Banh xeo. The richness and uniqueness of the food in each location will make people feel overwhelmed in both Hanoi and Saigon. To conclude, Hanoi and Saigon are quite different because of their culture, weather, and cuisine. Although each city has its distinctness, they have still fascinating destinations when discovering Vietnam.