"Too much money spent on sport when it could be used to help the poor. " What is your view?

In recent years, there have been witnessed to considerable changes in people's attitudes towards sports. One conspicuous example of this can be seen in ever-increasing number of disputes whether the government should allocate a huge amount of money on improving its sport facilities or that fund should be spend on enhancing the living standards of the poor. It seems to me that the poor should be granted with the money, instead of wasting it on sports. It is generally known that numerous countries are currently paying considerable attention to developing their status among other states by exploiting a vast amount of their budgets to repair its rating over the world but to improve the inadequate lifestyle of the population who are really in need. From my critical point of view, they should analyse the ultimate positive impact of development of the poor ethelon of the society, which includes increasing standards of their lives. The money that is allocated to build a single tremendous football arena, could be used to eract tens of buildings which offer job opportunities for the needy people. It seems to me that creating work places for them could be a solution to eliminate poverty among they, as they have a stable income by working. On the other hand, there are some proponents of sports who strongly claim that a particular amount of states budget should definitely be spent on advancing sport opportunities as they are great importance when their ranking are decided globally. They strictly state that by improving sport opportunities the government can be granted as a host country to world-known sport events such as Olympic Games or World Cups. It is undeniable fact that this chance persuades the country to get developed even more as the visitors to sport events can enrich its budget. However, it should not be neglected that there is not a single factor in the world, which is superior to human's dignity. There is no final benefit from being number one in world lists, if its population suffers from poverty or poor living standards. Therefore, it is my firm belief that, the needy people should nof be forgotten before distributing state's money on sports. Taking everything into consideration it can be concluded that the government should take into account the needs of the poor people and their life, standards prior to allocating vast amount of its funds to sports which only give it the word of high repertoire.