Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits.

Many people consider an individual’s character traits to be predetermined by our heritage, our personalities form before birth and cannot be changed. I do not completely agree with this statement. In my opinion, our genes have a great influence on a character’s build, however, they can be altered by external factors. To begin with, people are born with a number of genes that determine personal qualities, we could inherit them from multiple previous generations. For this reason, some people believe that some character traits are inevitable and we cannot be altered, that we are doomed to repeat our parents’ or grandparents’ mistakes. However, I believe that all people are different and our personalities consist of much more than just a result of our genes. Our surroundings shape our perception of the world and influence us more than we let ourselves believe. People around us, everyday meetings even books we read and movies we watch, everything has a certain impact on our identity. Furthermore, I would like to add that our childhood plays an important role in our personality’s build. Children are sensitive and natural shyness could be overcome by the correct treatment and at the same time could be worsened by peers. To conclude, from my point of view, our genes and heritage build our personalities to a certain extent. However, it is not inevitable and can be altered by external influence. We build ourselves with help of our surroundings for better or for worse.