Too much choice in fashion is a good thing or a bad thing? Why?

In the old days, people used to concern about clothes only because of wearing needed. However, in the modern life, clothing is not just about keeping body warm anymore, moreover, it’s about beauty and fashion. Due to this demand, fashion is playing an important role in our life and depending on this importance, retailers give us a wide selection of clothing. A question arises whether we have too much fashion choices and wondering is it good or bad. To me, having multiple choices in fashion has both of good side and bad side. To talk about the good things, first of all, when having several options in dressing gives human the opportunity to try many different styles. This is especially useful for young people who have not determinded their own style and desiderate to diversify themself. Beside that, the evolution of fashion gives us more opportunities to express ourselves. When having a wide choice of clothes, people can easily express our personality through the way we dress up as well as building self-image value by visual impressions. And we can’t help but mention the fact that creating many choices for human in fashion has contribute to the economic development in present. Not only promoting the growth of retail market, but these options also enhance the importnace of careers such as designer, fashionista or KOL. Besides the advantages, having too much options when it comes to dressing also has certain disadvantages. To start with, having too many shopping offers can easily distract us from our purpose. For example, when we need a new pair of jeans but there are way way too many options in terms of materials, styles or brands, . . . Instead of buying 1, we decided to buy 3 without any concern. This leads to the second bad thing of having too much choices in clothes which is waste. When shopping is unplanned, it will be a waste of money due to spending money on unnecessary things. Sometimes, this waste could lead to losing control in finance. Last but not least, increased choice can make us miserable because of regret and self-blame. The result comes up with a research that human end up less satisfied with the result of choice than we would be if we had fewer options to choose from. I believe that many of us have experienced the feeling of buying a favorite item but then hesitated and regretted because of the thought missing out on better items. This mentality occurs more in women, especially those who are easily distracted. When there are lots of alternatives to consider, it is easy to imagine the attracrtive features of alternatives which you reject that make you less satisfied with the alernative that you have chosen. In the long run, this mentality has negative effects on human’s health. To sum up, having too much choice in fashion has both benefits and drawbacks. Therefore, to bring benefits and limit risk, we need to make wise and right choices.