In some developed countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year at the end of high school and before starting university. What are the pros and cons for young people who choose to do this.

In several parts of the world, especially in developed nations, youngsters are encouraged to work or travel abroad for at least one year before joining the university life. I hold the view that this has both negative and positive development. This will be further explained below. To start with, there are many merits for youth to work and travel far afield. In other words, adults have the chance to join the workforce to earn some amount of money in order for them to meet their basic needs, and therefore they will be able to take responsibility in the future. Moreover, youth can expand their horizon by traveling abroad, so they can adapt themselves to the new environment and start to enjoy new relationships and experiences. According to a survey conducted by The Gulf News; almost 60% of young people who work or travel before starting university, found them have great interpersonal skills. As a result, the local council provides incentives to people to work and travel at least for one year. On the other hand, despite the above merits, there are some demerits of this behavior. To illustrate more, life is hard and complex, so if people decide to return back to study, it will be hard for them to remember the curricular activities and they will start from the scratch to memorize the academic knowledge. This means that there will be a delay in learning compared with those who did not take a year break. In addition to this, travel requires a lot of money, and this will put pressure on parents to work double shifts to bring the money they need. Hence, it is considered that this is a negative development. In conclusion, although there are some advantages for adults to join early the workforce, still we see some drawbacks that cannot be ignored.