told about the first time take a risk

I am not the person who enjoy taking risks, I prefer playing safe. I always explore all avenues before doing something that not very safe. I can't imagine if I was put in danger, so I have never climbed mountains, stayed up too late, played skydiving or any extreme sports. However, when I was in middle school, I took part in a running competition- the first risk I have taken. It does not sounds too risky, but it's the first time I take a sport that requires vigoruos exercise. Until now, every time I recall that experience, it's so vivid. That contest is called Healthy Phu Dong Association, any student can participate (of course on a voluntary basis). Though i did not register, my name was appeared on the contest list. Maybe it's a joke of my friends. I would be very confident if the track was only 100-200 meters long instead of 1 kilometer. My emotions at that time were surprise, worry and a little excitement. I had seemed to be out of my depth and I wondered from where to start, then I thought just let's face it. I started to plan my practice before the competition. I set a goal of jogging from my house to a market, the distance between them is almost the same as the race track. I did not think too much about the result of the conpetition, I just focused on practicing and trying my best. I knew it's not easy to be the champion, but no matter what, keep my chin up. The competition took place after I had practiced for more than 3 weeks, I got the first prize- a proud result for my class and for myself. I was no longer afraid to take risks but knew to acknowledge it. It's really a valuable lesson for growth.