TOEFL Integrated speaking, question 3 - Briefly summarize the proposal in the student’s letter. Then state her opinion about the proposal and explain the reasons she gives for holding that opinion. - Preparation Time: 30 SecondsResponse Time:

People hold different views about whether or not children should be permitted to decide every matter that are relevant to them. From my point of view, it is essential for youngsters make their own choices but under surveillance of adults. On the one hand, giving children the right to make their own decisions on what is involved them will enhance their independence and confidence. Since the world is inexorably changing, the parents’ thought is not always proper to their children. Forcing the young to observe every regular might put them under great pressure, which deprives them of being themselves. For instance, there are an enormous number of gay boys in my country suffering serious depression as they have to hide their characteristics. In comparisons with the boys who are accepted, those boys are less confident and constant. On the other hand, the parents need to introduce their offspring what is beneficial as they are usually misled by the things around them. There is likelihood that youngsters might be tainted when they are allowed to do whatever they want. Video games, for example, are deemed highly addictive from which parents need to prevent their children unless they will ruin the children’s health and make them indifferent to other people. Another example is the candy, if the parent does not restrict it, children could consume a massive amount of sugar, which causes obesity and other diseases. In conclusion, I will not take issue with allowing children to make decisions about their own matters, however, adults should be the guides who show the young what is beneficial to them.